Do Not Disturb while driving
When “Do Not Disturb while driving” is activated, it helps you stay focused on the road. Text messages and other notifications are silenced or limited. Siri reads replies aloud, so you don’t have to look at your iPhone (the screen stays dark). Incoming calls are allowed only when iPhone is connected to a car Bluetooth system or a hands-free accessory, or when you use the Do Not Disturb settings to allow some calls.
WARNING: For important information about navigation and avoiding distractions that could lead to dangerous situations, see Important safety information. “Do Not Disturb while driving” is not a substitute for following all rules that prohibit distracted driving.
Use “Do Not Disturb while driving.” If iPhone detects you might have driven a vehicle before you set up “Do Not Disturb while driving,” iPhone asks if you want to turn it on. Otherwise, go to Settings > Do Not Disturb > Activate, then choose an option: Automatically (when iPhone detects you might be driving), Manually (only from Control Center), or When Connected to Car Bluetooth.
If you choose Manually, add Do Not Disturb While Driving to Control Center. Go to Settings > Control Center > Customize Controls, then tap
next to Do Not Disturb While Driving.
Note: When you’re using CarPlay, “Do Not Disturb while driving” isn’t activated.
Get calls, messages, and notifications when you’re a passenger. If “Do Not Disturb while driving” becomes active when you’re not driving (if you’re a passenger, for example), tap the Do Not Disturb notification on the Lock screen, then tap I’m Not Driving. You can also swipe up from the bottom of the screen (iPhone X) or press the Home button (other models), then tap I’m Not Driving.

Send an auto-reply text message that you’re driving. By default, an auto-reply is sent to anyone in your Favorites group. To change who receives the auto-reply, go to Settings > Do Not Disturb > Auto-Reply To, then choose one of the following:
- Recents: Sends an auto-reply to anyone you sent a message to in the previous two days, even if they’re not in your Contacts.
- Favorites: Sends an auto-reply to anyone in your Favorites group in Phone.
- All Contacts: Sends an auto-reply to everyone in Contacts.
- No One: Turns off auto-reply.
If anyone responds to your auto-reply message with the message “Urgent,” all subsequent texts from that person come through for the remainder of your drive.
Create a custom auto-reply text message. Go to Settings > Do Not Disturb > Auto-Reply, then tap the message to bring up the keyboard.
Allow some calls. If your car doesn’t have Bluetooth, you can allow some calls to come through.
- Allow a second call from the same person within 3 minutes: Go to Settings > Do Not Disturb, then turn on Repeated Calls.
- Allow calls from your Favorites or everyone: Go to Settings > Do Not Disturb > Allow Calls From.
Note: “Do Not Disturb while driving” uses Location Services to help determine if you might be driving or if you’re near your home, work, or a predicted destination. The location data Apple collects for these purposes doesn’t personally identify you. To turn off Location Services for “Do Not Disturb while driving,” go to Settings > Privacy > Location Services > System Services, then turn off Location-Based Alerts.
References
- User Manualmanual.tools
Sorry, is it possible to delete or delete the message that is sent in the queue to the one chosen by the user, and which suggests to insert the word “urgent” to overcome the block of notifications? Or at least change it? Many frazie
Scusate, é possibile eliminare o cancellare il messaggio che viene inviato in coda a quello scelto dall’utente, e che suggerisce di inserire la parola “urgente” per superare il blocco delle notifiche? O almeno modificarlo? Molte frazie
Scusate, é possibile eliminare o cancellare il messaggio che viene inviato in coda a quello scelto dall'utente, e che suggerisce di inserire la parola "urgente" per superare il blocco delle notifiche? O almeno modificarlo? Molte frazie
Is it possible to delete or modify the 'Urgent' keyword instruction that is appended to the Do Not Disturb While Driving auto-reply message?
Based on the iOS 11 settings for Do Not Disturb While Driving, you can customize the main body of your auto-reply message, but you cannot remove or modify the system-generated instruction regarding the word "Urgent."
The feature is designed as a safety measure so that in a genuine emergency, a contact can bypass the silence by replying with "Urgent." While you can change who receives the message or the custom text of your reply, the "Urgent" bypass functionality is a hard-coded part of the iOS safety protocol for this mode.
To customize your main message or manage who receives it, follow these steps:
Read the full Q&A page