Block a phone number

Block a phone number

You can block numbers from calling and messaging you through Google Fi.

How number blocking works

When you block a number, you won’t receive any calls or messages (SMS or MMS) from that number. This applies to your Fi device and all your forwarding phones.

When someone with a blocked number tries to send you a message, it will look to the sender like the message is sent as usual. If someone with a blocked number tries to call you, the call won’t go through and there won’t be an option to leave you a voicemail. The caller will just hear a message saying that they’ve reached a number that has been disconnected or is no longer in service.

Please note: Google Fi cannot control whether other services (like other apps on your phone) are blocking calls or messages. There may also be some limited cases when Google Fi cannot block calls or messages, such as when you’re roaming internationally.

Block or unblock a number

Block a number

  1. Open the Google Fi app or website.
  2. In the Account tab, go to “Phone settings.”
  3. Select Blocked numbers.
  4. Select Block a number.
  5. Enter the number and description (optional).
  6. Select Block.

View a tutorial on how to block a number on your Android or iPhone.

Unblock a number

  1. Open the Google Fi app or website.
  2. In the Account tab, go to “Phone settings.”
  3. Select Blocked Numbers.
  4. Next to a number you want to unblock, click or tap Remove Remove.
  5. Tap Unblock.

View a tutorial on how to unblock a number on your Android or iPhone.

Block with Google Voice and other services

Google Voice

If you switched from Google Voice, any numbers that you’ve blocked in Google Voice carry over to Google Fi.

Call blocking and emergency services (911)

If you make an emergency call, Google Fi will turn off all number blocking for a 2-hour period to make sure that 911 operators can call you back if needed.

To turn off number blocking temporarily, Google Fi sends a data message, and in some cases a text message, to our servers to let us know an emergency call was made from your device.

Monitor & budget data usage

References

Questions and answers

Helpful product questions tied to this manual. Each item links to the full Q&A page.

Questions & Answers

Use this section to ask about setup, compatibility, troubleshooting, or anything missing from this manual.

  1. If you block a number on google fi can I still text and call the number I blocked? If so, will those call and texts appear in my call history?

    Jennifer Propillo asks If you block a number on google fi can I still text and call the number I blocked? If so, will those call and texts appear in my call history?
    Manuals+ clarified question
    Question

    If I block a number on Google Fi, can I still call and text that number, and will those interactions appear in my call history?

    Answer

    Based on the Google Fi documentation, blocking a number is primarily designed to prevent you from receiving incoming calls and messages. Here is how it affects your ability to communicate with that number:

    • Outgoing Communication: Blocking a number on Google Fi prevents that specific number from reaching you. It does not technically prevent you from initiating a call or sending a text to that number from your device.
    • Call History: If you choose to call or text a number you have blocked, these actions will typically appear in your device's local call history and messaging logs, as you are the one initiating the activity.
    • Incoming History: Because Google Fi blocks the call before it reaches your device (the caller hears a message that the number is disconnected), blocked incoming calls generally do not appear in your standard call history or notification logs.

    Note: If you need to communicate with the person, it is recommended to Unblock the number first by going to the Google Fi app > Account > Phone settings > Blocked numbers and selecting Remove next to the number.

Ask a Question

Ask about setup, compatibility, troubleshooting, or anything missing from this manual. Name and email are optional.